Taking the next step

A little over eight years ago I got married, went on a honeymoon, spent a week packing the U-Haul, and then moved to Idaho with my new bride.  I didn’t have a clue what I was going to do.  I didn’t have a job lined up.  I had a bed in my mother-in-law’s basement waiting for me.  And I was moving to a town that had more Mormons than the campus at BYU.  But I went anyway.

I’m glad I did.  If I wouldn’t have taken that step in my life, I probably wouldn’t be where I am today – which is the new owner of Anytime Fitness Pella!

It’s funny the journey life takes us on sometimes.  My 1,700 mile journey led me to Apple Athletic Club in Idaho Falls, Idaho.  I didn’t have a job, but I had to have a place to work out.  Somehow my mother-in-law hooked me up on their family membership plan.  So in between sending out resumes and doing the laundry, I made sure I kept up with my training program.  I loved the club so much that when they posted an ad for an Assistant Program Director, I immediately applied and was later hired.  The rest, as they say, is history.

I spent two years there, then we moved back to Iowa.  It didn’t take long before I was hired on as a fitness professional at Pella Health & Fitness.  I became a certified personal trainer and eventually moved up to managing the health club before we converted to Anytime Fitness four years ago.  I stayed on as manager of Anytime Fitness and this past year seriously considered owning my own business.  Now I do.

So I’ve taken the next step.  But there are more steps to take.  My goal is to make Anytime Fitness the top choice for fat loss results in Pella.  If you are reading this and your goal is fat loss, but you’re not a member, I strongly urge you to consider us.  Our system is based on making lifestyle changes with nutrition and exercise, not searching for a quick fix through starvation diets or unsafe workout programs.  Plus, we offer the convenience of being able to exercise when it fits in your schedule.

So what are you waiting for?  What is your next step in life?  What is the next step you need to take for your health and fitness?  Are you ready to make a commitment?  Or are you going to hang out on the fence?  So far I have enjoyed my journey to the fullest.  The next step in my journey begins now.  I would love to have you be a part of it!  And if you are ready to begin a fat loss journey, I would love to be a part of yours!

3 responses to “Taking the next step

  1. Barry- Congratulations!! I am very proud and happy for you. It was great to read about your journey to a successful and happy, healthy, lifestyle. I wish you the best for you and your family. Come visit if you are ever in Idaho Falls.
    Take care , Liz

  2. Well written Barry! Congrats on the next part of your journey. I am certain you will accomplish what is set out for you to do. I see your passion and an so excited to be a part of it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

